Week 1: Plaster Casting

This project was very interesting. I have never worked with plaster before, so this project gave me my first opportunity to do so. I have also never done a project similar to this. Mixing and pouring the plaster was the easy part. Trying to to create a mold without it caving in was the hard part. After quite a long process of trial and error, I was eventually able to create a mold that didn’t cave in. I was actually pretty proud of how my plaster casting came out, even though two fingers ended up getting stuck together (my pinky and ring finger). I went to the beach with two of my other friends so it made the experience a lot more fun because we all struggle together trying to make the perfect mold. We had a system of digging  a deep hole then filling it with water and wet sand. After that was done, we pressed on the sand to make sure it was densely packed and would not collapse. Slowly, we wiggled out our hands then filled out molds with plaster.

This project taught me to be patient and that sometimes it takes a few tries to get something right. Overall, I had a blast working on this project because it was a new experience and it made me closer to my friends.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Leave a Reply

