Week 2: Landscapes with a Corpse

“Beauty is pain, sometimes enough to kill you.”

Processed with VSCO with c9 preset
“Beauty is pain, sometimes enough to kill you.”

When I heard about this project, I instantly thought of the idea, “Beauty is pain, sometimes enough to kill you.” Personally to me it depicts how we, as individuals, can get so wound up on appearance and how others see us, that we lose our sense of self to become something we are not. We change our looks, grow this new self while our old self is slowly dying. We try to become something we are not, but at the same time… This can be a good thing. If you are trying to better yourself, or if trying to look better will make you feel better, then so be it. Some believe that makeup is a way to hide your flaws, but makeup itself is an art. Your face is the canvas and you paint away with your makeup brushes. This post can go many different ways. This version of death could also be because I was allergic to some formula of makeup but I wasn’t paying attention so I had an allergic reaction and died. Moral of that story is to always know what you are putting on yourself because even if you look good, things can go horribly wrong.

I had a lot of fun doing this project because I was able to get all dolled up, which I rarely ever get the chance to do. I did struggle to clean up the mess I had made, but other than that, this project was a breeze. Although I do have to say that my only other problem was that I couldn’t get a higher view of my corpse because the ceiling limited going higher. Other than that, I had a great time doing this project.

I would also like to thank my wonderful boyfriend for helping me with this project because I am physically incapable of pretending to be dead while simultaneously taking a picture of myself. Check out his blog: Brian Sath

Leave a Reply

