Week 6: Zines

I LOVED THIS PROJECT. It reminded me of my high school days when I’d do the most to make a project look cute. I haven’t used a glue stick in the longest time. Aside from all of our class projects, I haven’t done something artsy in this manner. I looked through a bunch of magazines then ripped out  the pictures and quotes that I liked. Most of the quotes on the pictures were from completely different pages of different magazines. For example, “BRIGHT IDEAS” and “the Realist” were not originally on the pictures that they are pasted onto. Neither is “California, CAPTURING THE GOLDEN STATE OF MIND”, “The Bright Side of Life”, “FUN IN THE SUN”, or “Leave it all Behind”. When given the option of doing a flip book or a zine, I instantly knew I wanted to do a zine. There was not a common theme to the entire zine, but I tried to make the pages facing each other, as well as the front and back covers, have common themes. The hardest part about this project was sewing the string through the holes of the book. I made the holes in class on Wednesday but I didn’t want to sew It just yet because of my idea to cover all of each page. I also didn’t have a needle to thread my string through so I used a paperclip. I had to bend it in half and make a hook that the string would go through so that it would go through the holes. The holes were quite small so trying to push the paperclip through them were difficult. I actually broke a nail during the process. Overall, I’m very proud of the turnout of my zine. There were a few more pages in this zine, but these are a few of my favorite pages. Processed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 presetProcessed with VSCO with c9 preset

Leave a Reply

